Undergraduate College Complex Takes Shape As Westlake University Prepares To Welcome Students From Around The World

13, 2023

Email: zhangchi@westlake.edu.cn
Phone: +86-(0)571-86886861
Office of Public Affairs

Undergraduate college complex construction at Yungu Campus of Westlake University on January 7

Westlake University was established in 2018 with approval from China's Ministry of Education. The university prioritizes research areas in natural science, medical science and advanced technology.

Aerial photo of Yungu campus of Westlake University

Yungu Campus, where undergraduates reside and study, was opened on October 23, 2021, receiving Westlake University’s first batch of undergraduates in 2022.

The undergraduate college complex, located in the northeast of the Yungu Campus, includes four residential colleges, a student activity center, a canteen, and a laboratory building.

Exterior of one of the four residential colleges

Designed to integrate the theme of traditional Chinese academies with world-class residential hall standards, the four residential colleges will connect students from different cultural backgrounds and academic disciplines with similar interests and lifestyles.

To the west of the residential colleges are the student activity center, the canteen, and the laboratory building.

Exterior of the activity center and canteen building

The activity center provides venues, facilities, and equipment for the extracurricular cultural activities of undergraduates and doctoral students.

The canteen can accommodate over 1,000 people at one time.

The laboratory building houses areas for work in engineering, physics, chemistry, and medical biology, as well as open communication spaces.

The undergraduate college complex is scheduled to open in 2024, offering future leaders a pleasant environment on their journey of scientific exploration and innovation.

The complex is part of the third phase of the Yungu Campus construction project, which covers an area of 726 mu (about 484,000 square meters) and incorporates 36 buildings in five zones, namely teaching and research, campus life, university hospital and comprehensive services, sports, and undergraduate colleges.